Car Insurance Basics
Car insurance in Florida is required to register and drive your car. When you purchase a new car or truck in the state of Florida you must show proof of insurance and a valid driver’s license before you may drive the vehicle off the lot. The state of Florida does require a minimum vehicle insurance coverage for all drivers.
Florida’s minimum auto insurance coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate. Drivers who do not carry a valid Florida car insurance policy could have their driving privilege suspended including their vehicle license plate and registration. This suspension could last up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.
If you move to the state of Florida and have car insurance with another agency in another state you will be required to get vehicle insurance issued through a Florida insurance agent who has an insurance company licensed to sell auto insurance in Florida. Most car insurance agencies have Florida insurance agents licensed to issue a Florida car insurance policy. Policy holders may need to ask their current car insurance holder to transfer their vehicle insurance to a licensed Florida car insurance agency. This transfer should happen upon registering a vehicle in the state of Florida.
Many people reside in Florida for only part of the year and therefore may not have all of their Florida vehicles in use when living elsewhere. The state of Florida requires any vehicle holding a valid Florida license plate and registration be covered by a Florida car insurance policy throughout the entire registration period. Should a driver leave the state they may surrender their license plate and registration to avoid maintaining a car insurance policy in Florida.
If you are permanently moving out of state the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles recommends not canceling your Florida auto policy until you have registered your vehicle in another state. The law says a Florida car insurance policy is required as long as your vehicle is registered within the state of Florida.
For more Florida car insurance advice and information please contact our vehicle insurance experts at Car Insurance Florida Specialists 407-613-2055 or drop us an email to Simone.Baldwin@TeachersInsuranceSpecialists.com